Winners of the 2019 Guldbagge Awards


All the Guldbagge winners at Cirkus in Stockholm, 28 January 2019. Photo: Pelle T. Nilsson

At an awards ceremony held at Cirkus in Stockholm yesterday, the winners of the 2019 Guldbagge Awards were crowned. Border was the big winner with six awards including Best Film, followed by Goliath with four. Reconstructing Utøya nabbed two awards, Best Director for Carl Javér and Best Documentary.

At the ceremony, hosted by actress and screenwriter Emma Molin and broadcast live by SVT (Swedish Television), the following Guldbagge Awards were handed out:

Best Film
Border (Gräns)
Produced by Nina BisgaardPiodor Gustafsson and Petra Jönsson

Best Director
Carl Javér

for Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya)

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Eva Melander

for her role as Tina in Border (Gräns)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Joakim Sällquist

for his role as Roland in Goliath (Goliat)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Lena Nilsson 
for her role as Simone in Videoman (Videomannen)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Eero Milonoff

for his role as Vore in Border (Gräns)

Best Screenplay
Peter Grönlund

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Cinematography
Kristoffer Jönsson 

for Garden Lane (Trädgårdsgatan)

Best Editing
Dino Jonsäter

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Costume
Ingrid Sjögren

for The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)

Best Sound/Sound Design
Christian Holm

for Border (Gräns)

Best Makeup
Göran Lundström, Pamela Goldammer
 and Erica Spetzig
for Border (Gräns)

Best Original Score
Johan Testad

for Goliath (Goliat)

Best Set Design
Ulrika von Vegesack

for A Moon of My Own (Ted – För kärlekens skull)

Best Visual Effects
Peter Hjorth, Mikael Windelin
 and Christian Sjöstedt
for Border (Gräns)

Best Short Film
The Martyr (Martyren)
by Ahmed Abdullahi

Best Documentary Film
Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya)
by Carl Javér

Best Foreign Film
by Hirokazu Kore-eda

Additional awards at the ceremony:

The Guldbagge Audience Award
The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)
Produced by Martin SöderRenée Axö and Lars Beckung

Handed out for the second year, the Guldbagge Audience Award (Guldbaggens publikpris) included all 47 Swedish feature length films that premiered in cinemas during 2018. The award was produced by The Swedish Film Institute in collaboration with Swedish news media Aftonbladet. The voting process started on 21 December 2018 and continued until 22 January 2019, with three finalists making the last round of voting.

Newcomer of the Year
Film collective Crazy Pictures

Lifetime Achievement Award
The board of the Swedish Film Institute extends the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award to actress Yvonne Lombard

The Gullspira 2019, for extraordinary contributions to films for children, was awarded to producer, director and screenwriter Linda Hambäck

Facts about the 2019 Guldbagge:

In total, 27 films were nominated. Of those, the following nine films were awarded:

Border – 6 Guldbagge Awards (which ties with the record held by Force Majeure at the 2015 Guldbagge Awards)

Goliath – 4 Guldbagge Awards

Reconstructing Utøya – 2 Guldbagge Awards

The Cake General – 1 Guldbagge Award and The Guldbagge Audience Award

Videoman – 1 Guldbagge Award

Garden Lane – 1 Guldbagge Award

A Moon of My Own – 1 Guldbagge Award

Shoplifters – 1 Gulbagge Awards

The Martyr – 1 Guldbagge Award

Awarded annually since 1964, the Guldbagge (“Golden Beetle”) is the name of the Swedish Film Institute’s award for achievements during the previous year. The award itself, in the form of a fantastical beetle, was designed by artist Karl Axel Pehrson.

Read more about the award at

Leave a Reply