Category Archives: Opinion

ÄR KINAS NYA SIDENVÄG EN SKULDFÄLLA? Dags att skilja fakta från fantasi!

Av   Hussein Askary *

STOCKHOLM, Feb.9(Greenpost)–Under 2018 riktades en störtflod av kritik mot Kinas Belt & Road Initiative (BRI), den stora satsningen på ”nya sidenvägar” som ska underlätta förbindelserna inom och mellan Eurasien och Afrika med hjälp av modern infrastruktur, som järnvägar, motorvägar, hamnar, flygplatser, kraftverk, dammar, kanaler och telekommunikationsnätverk. BRI har redan omskapat de internationella ekonomiska förbindelserna i synnerhet i den s.k. utvecklingssektorn och sätter fart på den ekonomiska utvecklingen och fattigdomsbekämpningen i många länder runt om världen med en kraft som inte går att hejda.

Misstänksamhet och kritik mot Kina från nyhetsmedier och politiska krafter i väst är inget nytt, men nu kläs den i andra ord. BRI framställs som ett sätt att lura utvecklingsländer att skuldsätta sig genom stora infrastrukturprojekt för att Kina ska kunna dra politiska och strategiska fördelar, framför allt när dessa länder sedan inte kan betala tillbaka lånen de fått från Kina.

Detta låter ju inte alltför långsökt, med tanke på den skurkroll som kineser, ryssar och andra icke-europeiska regelmässigt tilldelas i väst, inte bara i James Bond-filmer. Vi förväntas inte heller granska ”fakta” som vi blir serverade av etablerade experter och nyhetsmedier, som inte sällan på ett eller annat sätt är kopplade till eller till och med avlönade av staten.

Och varifrån kommer kritiken? Den kommer oftast inte från experter på ekonomi i USA eller Europa, utan från säkerhetsexperter och geopolitiska analytiker som har liten eller ingen kunskap om ekonomi.

Debtbook Diplomacy, ”skuldfälla-diplomati”[1], lanserades som begrepp i en rapport beställd av USA:s utrikesdepartement, som kom ut i maj 2018. Den rapporten användes sedan av amerikanska UD för att ringa i alla varningsklockor i hela världen om vilka konsekvenser Kinas BRI kunde få. Etablerade nyhetsmedier rapporterade vad rapporten hade ”kommit fram till” som om det var fakta. Men rapportförfattaren, en ung akademiker vid namn Sam Parker, som samma år hade avlagt sin magisterexamen på Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs vid Harvard Kennedy School, saknade kända ekonomiska meriter och hade inte heller publicerat någonting om ekonomin vare sig i Kina eller något annat land. Han kom i stället till Harvard efter att ha tjänstgjort flera år på USA:s departement för inrikes säkerhet![2]

Sri Lanka: Inget ”paradexempel”

Experterna och medierna har aldrig presenterat några egentliga belägg för vad de påstår är Kinas strategiska ”avsikter”. Det som de beskyller Kina för är snarare en projektion på Kina av de europeiska ländernas eget koloniala förflutna, som egentligen inte har någonting med Kinas faktiska historia eller utrikespolitik att göra.

Det enda exemplet på vad man hävdar är den kinesiska modellen, som man hela tiden återkommer till, är hamnen i Hambantota i Sri Lanka. Parker menar att Kinas övertagande av hamnen i Hambantota ska lyftas fram i alla sammanhang som ett ”paradexempel” på hur Kina tänker behandla andra länder. Vilken betydelse denna hamn har för Sri Lankas nu aktuella och framtida utvecklingsplaner bryr man sig inte om. Det enda man säger är att chansen att hamnen skulle generera intäkter ända från början var lika med noll, och att Kina pumpade in pengar i hamnen med den enda avsikten att sedan kunna lägga beslag på den.

Projektet, till en kostnad av sammanlagt 1,1 miljarder dollar, var inte en kinesisk idé, utan en del av den lankesiska regeringens plan för att avlasta den enda större hamnen i landet, Colombo Harbor Port, genom att anlägga en ny hamn och bygga ett industriområde i dess närhet. Den planen gick tillbaka till 2002, långt innan BRI var påtänkt. Att bygga kraftverk och anlägga nya industriområden var ett led i satsningen ”Regaining Sri Lanka”, med tonvikt på att stimulera den ekonomiska aktiviteten i landets södra del.

Arbetet med att anlägga hamnen i Hambantota påbörjades 2008 av China Harbour Engineering Company och Sinohydro Corporation. Projektet finansierades till 85 procent genom ett lån från China Export-Import Bank. Hamnen öppnades formellt för kommersiell trafik 2010, men godshanteringen blev inte den förväntade. De låga intäkterna och betydande finansieringskostnaderna gjorde att hamnmyndigheten i Sri Lanka 2016 tecknade ett avtal med innebörden att det statliga kinesiska holdingbolaget China Merchants Port skulle få leasa 70 procent av hamnen i 99 år och få en 85-procentig ägarandel i hamnen och industriområdet, mot att man förband sig att fortsätta investera i en uppgradering av faciliteterna där. Det kinesiska bolaget skulle investera ytterligare 700-800 miljoner dollar i utvecklingen av hamnområdet. Syftet med avtalet var att lätta på skuldbördan för Sri Lanka.

Kritikerna utgår från att Sri Lanka alltid kommer att förbli ett fattigt land utan industri, modernt jordbruk eller annan modern ekonomisk verksamhet som skulle ställa krav på en modern infrastruktur, som denna hamn. Dessutom nämns det nästan aldrig att merparten av den kommersiella sjöfarten mellan Ostasien och Europa passerar förbi bara 6-9 sjömil söder om Sri Lankas sydkust, och att den lankesiska ekonomin uppenbarligen skulle kunna dra fördel på olika sätt av de enorma handelsvolymer som färdas genom dessa vatten. Hamnanläggningen i Hambantota har alla möjligheter att kunna erbjuda sjöfartsrelaterade tjänster såsom skeppsklarering, omlastning av gods med mera samt har ett utmärkt läge för industrier som kan dra fördel av den direkta tillgängligheten till världsmarknaden.

Ena stunden beskrivs Hambantota som ett meningslöst och dyrt projekt, andra stunden som en betydande strategisk tillgång för det expanderande Kina.

 

Sjöfartsvägar förbi Sri Lanka. När hamnen i Hambantota rycks ur sitt sammanhang får man intrycket att Kina har byggt en hamn på en öde strandremsa mitt ute i ingenstans. Men Hambantota ligger bara 6-9 sjömil från en av de livligast trafikerade kommersiella handelsrutterna i världen.

 

Gav Kina lån till Sri Lanka till ett projekt som var dömt att bli ett affärsmässigt fiasko, bara för att sedan kunna ta hamnen i beslag när lånet förföll till betalning? Absolut inte. Men det är det som Parker vill få oss att tro.

Finns det någon annan rimlig förklaring? I den mån som just detta specifika exempel skulle vara utslag av en allmän trend, så är det att det visar att de internationella finansinstitutionerna och deras allierade ställer sig helt kallsinniga till utvecklingsländers önskan om att ta sig ur fattigdom och ekonomisk underutveckling. Parker skriver själv att Sri Lanka, efter ett förödande, decennielångt inbördeskrig, ”vände sig till Japan, Indien, IMF, Världsbanken och Asiatiska utvecklingsbanken med en förfrågan om finansiering för att anlägga en betydande hamn i det outvecklade Hambantotaområdet, men nekades finansiering på grund av frågetecken kring mänskliga rättigheter och affärsmässig bärkraft.” Kina sa inte nej till Sri Lanka, utan hjälpte till att göra verklighet av ett mål som landet självt hade satt upp.

En viktig ekonomisk poäng som vår tids journalister och ”experter” inte tar hänsyn till, är att infrastrukturens värde inte främst ligger i dess förmåga att generera finansiell avkastning; den avgörande betydelse som infrastruktur har för varje lands utveckling till en modern ekonomi ligger i att den höjer produktiviteten i hela den nationella ekonomin. ”Avkastningen på investeringen” är inte avgifterna som kan tas ut från dem som brukar infrastrukturen ifråga, utan intäkterna som flyter in till de produktiva industri- och jordbruksföretag som drar nytta av denna infrastruktur. Vi ska återkomma till detta.

Fakta i målet

Afrika. Den ”bild” som målas upp i den anti-kinesiska rapporteringen motsägs av fakta. Till exempel framgår det av den väldokumenterade forskning som gjorts av China Africa Research Initiative vid Johns Hopkins-universitetets School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS-CARI)[3], att merparten av de afrikanska skulderna inte är till Kina, utan till västländer och västligt dominerade institutioner som IMF och Världsbanken.

I sin vitbok om mötet i Peking i september 2018 med Forum on China-Africa Cooperation (FOCAC) skriver SAIS-CARI: ”Vi konstaterar att kinesiska lån för närvarande inte är en betydande orsak till skuldsvårigheter i Afrika. Många länder har ändå tagit stora lån från Kina och andra. Nya FOCAC-låneutfästelser kommer sannolikt att ta med Afrikas växande skuldbörda i beräkningen.” Kina lånade enligt vitboken ut 133 miljarder dollar till Afrika under perioden 2000-2016, med ett mycket stort belopp på 30 miljarder dollar 2016, efter FOCAC-mötet i Johannesburg 2015. Många afrikanska länder har fått lån från Kina, men i bara tre fall – Djibouti, Kongo-Kinshasa och Zambia – är Kina den största långivaren. I Kamerun, på fjärde plats vad gäller andelen kinesiska lån i förhållande till den totala utlandsskulden, är andelen kinesiska lån mindre än en tredjedel.

Pakistan. Pakistan är ett land som har suttit fast i en skuldfälla i många år, men det är inte Kina som är fordringsägare utan stater och finansinstitutioner i väst. Och, som vi ska visa nedan, om det är någonting som ska kunna hjälpa Pakistan att ta sig ur denna fälla, så är det samarbetet med Kina om att bygga den kinesisk-pakistanska ekonomiska korridoren, China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC).

I sin Debtbook Diplomacy-rapport, under rubriken ”USA:s intressen på spel”, låter Sam Parker den imperialistiska undertonen i rapporten träda i dagen. Som ”punkt 1” slår Parker fast att ”Kinas expanderande regionala inflytande och tillgång till hamnar i Sydasien och Stilla havet på sikt kan ändra den regionala maktbalansen bort från USA:s effektiva dominans till sjöss”. Värre blir det i punkt 2: ”Kinas lån underminerar USA:s möjligheter att använda sitt eget ekonomiska bistånd till att gynna USA:s säkerhetspolitiska målsättningar. Detta bistånd har gett USA ett kraftfullt medel att främja sina intressen i Pakistan rörande kärnvapensäkerhet och terrorismbekämpning.”

Parker, liksom de flesta i väst med en kritisk inställning till Kina, beskyller Kina för att underminera västvärldens strategiska grepp över världen, genom att försvåra för västvärlden att använda ekonomiskt bistånd och lån för att kontrollera andra länder för strategiska syften. Ett märkligt argument!

Idag är det enskilda stater organiserade i den s.k. Parisklubben (nästan uteslutande västländer) och multilaterala långivare med IMF och internationella storbanker i spetsen som är Pakistans största långivare, inte Kina, enligt Pakistans officiella statistik[4]. 2018 uppgick Pakistans utlandsskuld till drygt 95 miljarder dollar, och skuldåterbetalningar (ränta och amorteringar) beräknas 2022-2023 belöpa sig till 31 miljarder dollar. Under innevarande budgetår kommer Pakistan att betala 4,2 miljarder dollar till dessa huvudsakligen västliga långivare. Skuldtjänsten på lånen till CPEC inleddes 2018, men utgörs av knappt 80 miljoner dollar i amorteringar, enligt uppgifter i den pakistanska dagstidningen The Dawn.

Mot den bakgrunden är det rätt ironiskt att den amerikanske utrikesministern Mike Pompeo, som basar över det departement som beställde Parkers rapport, i juli 2018 varnade IMF angående en förfrågan från den pakistanska regeringen om ett nödlån på 12 miljarder dollar. ”Förstå mig rätt. Vi håller ögonen på IMF”, sa Pompeo i en intervju på CNBC. ”Det finns ingen anledning att IMF-dollar, förknippade med de USA-dollar som är en del av IMF:s långivning, ska gå till att lösa ut kinesiska obligationsinnehavare eller Kina direkt”, sa Pompeo.

IMF, och därmed de västliga långivarna i Parisklubben, har aktivt blandat sig i Pakistans ekonomiska politik och suveränitet genom olika omförhandlingar av skulderna och de lånevillkor som alla IMF-lån är förenade med, med hjälp av mekanismer som Extended Fund Facility. Den senaste faciliteten i Pakistans fall var ett lån 2016 på 6,4 miljarder dollar. Ett villkor var att budgetunderskottet inte fick överstiga 4,2 procent, något som i princip omöjliggör statligt finansierade investeringar i infrastruktur. Ett annat var en nedskalning av Pakistans egna utvecklingsplaner med ca 1,6 miljarder dollar. Följden blir, som överallt annars där IMF och Världsbanken går in med sina s.k. räddningspaket, att skulden växer sig ännu större och ekonomin backar ännu mer, eftersom landet ifråga inte tillåts bygga upp en bas för framtida tillväxt. När nya lån går till att betala gamla skulder så spär det bara på den totala skuldsättningen.

Pakistans växande utlandsskuld är en direkt följd av landets enorma handelsunderskott. Varje år de senaste fem åren har underskottet varit minst 23 miljarder dollar, och det ökar dramatiskt. De viktigaste exportvarorna är textilier och livsmedel (huvudsakligen ris). Pakistan har också haft en fordonsindustri. Livsmedel är känsliga för prisfluktuationer, och textil- och fordonssektorerna är inte längre konkurrenskraftiga på grund av den dåliga energiförsörjningen i landet. Pakistans största importvaror (och orsaken till den negativa handelsbalansen och därav utlandsskulden) är olja, naturgas och raffinerade oljeprodukter (bränsle). Det är där Kinas insats genom CPEC kommer att spela den största rollen eftersom det förutom transportkorridorerna är just på energisidan som Kina koncentrerar sina investeringar, när man bygger den kinesisk-pakistanska ekonomiska korridoren[5].

 

Det står helt klart att om Pakistan, som varje år importerar olja och gas för 13-14 miljarder dollar, ska ha en chans att ta sig ur den ekonomiska krisen och skapa förutsättningar för en framtida blomstrande industrisektor, så är det absolut nödvändigt att man satsar stort på att öka den egna kraftproduktionen. Och det är det som Kina nu hjälper till med. Följande investeringar på energisidan är antingen färdigställda, under byggnad eller under förhandling: kolkraftverk (8.580 MW), vattenkraft (2.700 MW), andra värmekraftverk, däribland gaseldade (825 MW), solkraft (900 MW), vindkraftsparker (350 MW). Den förväntade nya kraftproduktionskapaciteten uppgår till sammanlagt 13.355 MW, att jämföra med Pakistans nuvarande installerade kapacitet på 25.000 MW.

Den sammanlagda kostnaden för denna nya kraftproduktion (inklusive kolutvinning och kraftnät) beräknas till 23-30 miljarder dollar, vilket motsvarar ungefär två års import av olja och gas, och mindre än hälften av det årliga handelsunderskottet.

Men i internationella medier fortsätter man att peka ut Kina som problemet, och det händer att rena falsarier kastas in i medieelden som om de var fakta.

Den pakistanska tidningen The News International basunerade till exempel ut i en rubrik den 29 september 2017, att ”Pakistan ska betala tillbaka 100 mdr dollar till Kina till 2024”.[6] Utan att ge någon förklaring till denna absurda siffra påstod man: ”Till 2024 måste Pakistan betala tillbaka 100 miljarder dollar till Kina, av en total investering på 18,5 miljarder dollar, som Kina i form av banklån har investerat i 19 snabbavkastande projekt huvudsakligen på energiområdet inom ramarna för China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC). ”Artikeln återkommer aldrig till detta hårresande påstående och ger ingen förklaring till siffrorna.

I Dagens Industri den 20 augusti 2018 påstod Johan Nylander[7] att: ”Under de tre senaste åren har Pakistan lagt på sig skulder till Kina på runt 270 miljarder dollar.” Nylander hänvisar till ”analyshuset IHS Markit” som sin källa, men där hittar vi inga sådana siffror[8]. Siffran 270 miljarder dollar står heller ingenstans att finna eftersom Pakistans samlade skuld till hela världen är mindre än 100 miljarder dollar. Men läsaren av DI förväntas bara svälja dessa uppgifter eftersom de kommer från en av de etablerade nyhetsmedierna.

Produktiva krediter kontra skulder

Sambandet mellan satsningar på avancerad infrastruktur och höjd produktivitet i hela ekonomin har påvisats allra tydligast av studier som gjorts på USA:s egen ekonomi.

I alla frågor som rör långivning är den viktigaste frågan som måste ställas inte hur lånevillkoren ser ut (räntesatser, betalningsfria perioder eller löptider) utan vad lånet ska användas till. Det handlar om skillnaden mellan ”pengar” och ”krediter”. Skillnaden ligger i vad som är ändamålet med utgivningen av nya pengar resp. krediter. Man ser det tydligt i den nu rådande, katastrofala penning- och finanspolitiken i det trans-atlantiska området.

Centralbankerna i USA, EU och Japan, ”the big three”, har sedan slutet av 2008 skapat i runda slängar 13-14 biljoner dollar i nya pengar (genom det som kallas ”kvantitativa lättnader”), och har därutöver pumpat in likviditet i bankerna i form av tillfälliga lån motsvarande ytterligare många biljoner dollar. Men ingenting av dessa pengar – varken pengar i omlopp eller i elektronisk form – har getts ut för något ekonomiskt syfte, inte heller för handel. De har getts ut enkom för ett finansiellt syfte: att förse dessa länders storbanker med tillräckligt mycket kapital och likviditet för att de ska kunna hålla näsan ovanför vattenytan trots massiva förluster och osäkra fordringar.

Krediter däremot, som ges ut av stater, är en skuld som staten ifråga tar på sig, och som ”betalas tillbaka” med ”ränta” genom den generellt höjda produktivitet som den kommande generationen kommer att åtnjuta. Kort sagt, det är den höjda framtida produktiviteten som är säkerheten för den utgivna krediten.

Total faktorproduktivitet

Det finns ett starkt samband mellan kreditgivning till nya infrastrukturprojekt och den så kallade totala faktorproduktiviteten. Den senare parametern är ett försök att mäta den andel av den ekonomiska tillväxten som beror på tekniska framsteg. Den högsta årliga produktivitetstillväxten i USA inföll, med detta mått mätt, under de perioder då man gjorde de största investeringarna i infrastruktur som byggde på ny teknik – ny transportteknik för vägbyggen, kanaler, järnvägar och så småningom rymdfärder, kraftproduktionsteknik, vattenbyggnadsteknik, kommunikationsteknik. Allra snabbast ökade den totala faktorproduktiviteten under 1930-talet, med 3,3 procent årligen, tack vare president Franklin D. Roosevelts New Deal och Four Corners-programmet, med sina stora infrastruktursatsningar. Detta enligt en rapport från U.S. National Bureau of Economic Research från 2013. Stapeldiagrammet visar total faktorproduktivitet i USA-ekonomin (årlig tillväxt per decennium)

Ett i tiden mera närliggande exempel på detta nära samband är Kinas makalösa ekonomiska tillväxt de senaste 20 åren. En utomordentligt hög investeringstakt i vattenregleringar, kärnkraftsutbyggnad och på andra tekniskt avancerade infrastrukturområden – att Kina efter en tioårig satsning plötsligt hade fler kilometer höghastighets- och magnetsvävarräls än resten av världens länder tillsammans är ett i mängden av hyllade exempel – har gett mycket höga tillväxttakter i total faktorproduktivitet och i ekonomisk tillväxt och framåtskridande över huvud taget. Sedan 2008 har Kinas största statliga banker också skapat krediter motsvarande ca 12-13 biljoner dollar, lika mycket som de ovan nämnda västerländska bankerna. Skillnaden är att Kina förvandlade dessa krediter till realekonomiska värden och en högre produktivitet och välfärd för sin befolkning.

Hur Kina har hanterat det egna landets ekonomiska utveckling smittar av sig på landets förbindelser med andra länder.

Bryter med västländernas koloniala attityd

Det är påfallande hur vanligt det är att politiker, akademiker och skribenter i Europa och USA talar till och om utvecklingsländerna och deras representanter i en nedlåtande ton, som om de var barn som inte kan tala för sig själva. Det skvallrar om hur djupt rotad den koloniala attityden, ”den vite mannens börda”, alltjämt är i västvärlden. Afrikaner framställs underförstått, och ibland helt ogenerat, som mindre vetande krakar, som de förslagna kineserna lätt kan lura skjortan av.

I en intervju nyligen på China-Africa Podcast[9] förklarade W. Gyude Moore, tidigare minister för offentliga arbeten i Liberia och andre stabschef åt det landets president, den afrikanska synen på kinesisk hjälp med finansiering, utifrån sin egen erfarenhet av att ha förhandlat med Kina om många infrastrukturprojekt. Han sa:

”När Kina framställs som den här stora, stygga aktören, som är bakslug och överhopar länder med skulder, så tänker man bort nästan all medverkan från ländernas egen sida. Det är nästan som om de afrikanska länderna är naiva och inte begriper vad som händer och Kina slår blå dunster i ögonen på dem. Man nästan infantiliserar afrikaner och afrikanska ledare. … På grund av den begränsade mängd pengar som kommer från internationella finansinstitutioner måste länder som Liberia söka sig åt ett annat håll. … Ett av de få länder som faktiskt är berett att tala med ett land som Liberia, som kanske inte har det bästa kreditryktet, efter att just ha fått lån för nästan 5 miljarder dollar uppsagda, är Kina. … För ett land som Liberia är det helt omöjligt att förlita sig enbart på Världsbanken eller Afrikanska utvecklingsbanken för finansiering av infrastruktur – det går bara inte.”

Som ett förtydligande av skillnaden mellan skuldsättning och investeringar i framtiden, tillade Moore: ”Om länderna ska kunna betala tillbaka sina skulder måste deras ekonomier ha kommit dithän att de faktiskt genererar intäkter, och utan infrastruktur går det inte. Det är som med hönan och ägget.”

Moore bemötte användningen av hamnen i Hambantota som exempel på kinesisk finansieringspolitik: ”Alla hänvisar till hamnen i Sri Lanka, men Kina har lånat ut miljardtals med dollar. Att hamnen i Sri Lanka är det enda exemplet som folk kan dra upp, det tycker jag visar att detta Sri Lanka-exempel, detta enstaka fall, inte kan tas för hela sanningen om hur Kina vinner sina partner.”

Industrialiseringstrappan: Vart går USA och Europa?

De farhågor som många känner inför BRI och det nya paradigm som det håller på att skapa i de internationella förbindelserna är obefogade. Det är felaktiga föreställningar om ekonomi och maktförhållanden mellan länder som driver USA och många länder i EU till att inta denna negativa hållning till BRI.

Man kan likna industrialiseringsprocessen vid en smal trappa. Kina och många utvecklingsländer klättrar uppåt i trappan, medan USA och EU är på väg nedåt, mot avindustrialisering. Båda parter kommer till en punkt där de möts öga mot öga mitt i trappan, och spärrar vägen för varandra. Det är här som spänningarna stiger. Det är här som den ena sidan måste bestämma sig för att gå samman med den andra och röra sig åt samma håll, vilket skulle underlätta för båda att röra sig fritt.

Dessutom skulle båda parter vinna på att bredda trappan så att alla får plats, eller, som president Xi säger när han beskriver Kinas utvecklingspolitik, ”göra kakan större”, så att alla kan få sin rättmätiga del, i stället för att kivas om en krympande kaka.

 

* Hussein Askary är styrelseledamot i Belt and Road Executive Group for Sweden (BRIX), www.brixsweden.com

Paul Gallagher och Jason Ross bidrog med material till denna artikel.

Översättning till svenska: Astrid Sandmark

[1] Debtbook Diplomacy, Sam Parker, Gabrielle Chefitz, maj, 2018 https://www.belfercenter.org/publication/debtbook-diplomacy

[2] Om Sam Parker: https://www.belfercenter.org/person/sam-parker

 

[3] China Africa Research Initiative, The School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS-CARI), Johns Hopkins University, augusti 2018: http://www.sais-cari.org/s/Briefing-Paper-1-August-2018-Final.pdf

[4] Den pakistanska centralbankens egen statistik för finansåret 2017-2018: http://www.sbp.org.pk/ecodata/pakdebt.pdf

 

[5] Budgetåret 2017-2018 uppgick Pakistans import till 60,86 miljarder dollar, vilket var 2,6 gånger mer än exporten, som inbringade 23,22 miljarder dollar, med ett rekordstort handelsunderskott på 37,64 miljarder dollar som följd. Importen dominerades återigen av energi (olja och gas), till ett belopp av 14,43 miljarder dollar. Pakistan har lånat från bland annat västerländska banker för att finansiera sina köp av petroleumprodukter på den internationella marknaden. Den 3 augusti 2018 uppgav den pakistanska tidningen Express Tribune att den brittiska Standard Chartered Bank (SCB) skulle ge ett affärslån till Pakistan på 200 miljoner dollar till 4,2 procents ränta för att finansiera import av flytande naturgas. SCB är en av Pakistans största långivare, som enbart 2016-2017 lånade 1,1 miljarder dollar till landet. För att förstå hur viktigt det är för Pakistan att utveckla en egen kraftproduktion, kan man se på följande siffror: Den totala installerade kapaciteten för produktion av elkraft är 25.000 MW (2017) med en genomsnittlig förbrukning på 19.000 MW. Energislagen är: 1. Olja och gas: 14.635 MW (64,2 procent). 2. Vattenkraft: 6.611 MW (29 procent). 3. Kärnkraft: 1.322 MW (5,8 procent).

[6] The News International, 29 september, 2017, “Pakistan to pay back $100 bn to China by 2024”  (https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/233333-Pakistan-to-pay-back-100-bn-to-China-by-2024 ).

[7] “Nya Sidenvägen hotar bli skuldfälla”, Johan Nylander, Dagens Industri, Aug 20, 2018. https://www.di.se/nyheter/nya-sidenvagen-hotar-bli-skuldfalla/

[8]  En av IHS Markits rapporter från 2018 finns här: https://ihsmarkit.com/research-analysis/a-difficult-year-ahead-for-pakistan.html

[9] https://chinaafrica-podcast.com/an-insiders-view-of-the-china-africa-debt-trap-debate

Opinion: Britain is a typical example of not knowing what they want

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

Looking at the opposition’s shouting in the parliament and the shaking of head of May,  I asked democracy was just shouting at each other?

I think May was very clear and calm while the opposition was mad.

What does British people really want? It is very hard to say.

I went to Britain and found that people play with python snake or rare species in Africa or other countries in southern hemisphere.  Why? Because Britain is so rich that they don’t know what to do and what to want.  On the other hand, they couldn’t have as much cash as they want, so they have problem of liquidity too.

And that is the problem of capital world. When there is no capital in capital world, there will be problems. People likes to put money just into stocks so that they will feel secure all over their life without working so hard. And that is totally against the law of development.

Thus the solution for Britain is to either return to EU or negotiate with all the individual members.  Then it will be a long process to be normal.

Opinion: Canada should talk with China to find a better solution

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

STOCKHOLM, Jan. 16(Greenpost) — Canada and China should talk and negotiate a better solution for the future.

China and Canada have a lot of common interest and mutual complementary factors.

Both sides should sit down and be cool headed and negotiate a better solution.

It will harm both sides if one escalates conflicts which was neither due to China nor Canada.

Both sides should cool down and talk for a better solution.

 

Åsikter: Svenska som varit i kina förstår kina bättre än dem some var aldrig i kina

Bertil Wallgren – Floby – 11 dagar sedan

Det är enkelt att vara kritisk mot kineserna. En industriman som jobbade i Kina berättade om ett möte där kritik mot systemet framfördes. Svaret blev: Vi har 1400 miljoner människor, vi har inte tid med er demokrati! Gick en gång på kinesiska muren. Det slog mig då hur lite kineserna invaderat andra länder i motsats till oss i Europa, som härjat över hela världen, och även i Kina! Det tycker jag de ska ha en eloge för! Framtiden? Oviss, men Kina är på uppgång ekonomiskt. Militärt är de fortfarande svaga. Deras militärbudget är en tredjedel av USA:s. Även det är värt en en eloge! Demokrati är bäst, men den har sina nackdelar om man har bråttom att förändra! 

Torsten Dilot – Västerås – 11 dagar sedan

Jag instämmer med dig Bertil. Har själv kopplingar till Kina då min fru är från Kina. Vi har varit gifta nästan 20 år nu. Har varit i Kina många gånger och ofta i minst en månad i taget. Jag har både varit i Kina som privatperson och som föreläsare om säkerhetsanalys inom kärnkraften, energi och klimat på bl a Universitet i Shanghai och på CGN (China general Nuclear) i Shenzhen. Vardagslivet är inte alls olikt vårt i Sverige och människor gör sina sysslor på samma sätt som vi och tjänar pengar som vi gör. Samt att de är lyckliga de också. Jag upplever samma frihet i Kina som i Sverige, med den skillnaden att man inte kan bilda politiska partier. Men som du skriver, det bor 1.4 miljarder människor i Kina och det är en annan kultur. Vad är det som säger att vårt styrelsesätt är bäst även för Kina? Jag brukar säga till kompisar och andra att de först ska åka till Kina och vara där i minst en månad och uppleva landet innan de yttrar sig om deras system. Många som har en åsikt om Kina har aldrig varit i landet… Svensk medias skildringar av Kina stämmer inte överens med mina egna upplevelser. Svensk media vinklar som de vill och det är inte ett dugg bättre än öppen censur. (visa mindre)

Hans Starlife – Helsingborg – 11 dagar sedan

Torsten Samma här, är gift med en kinesiska och bott många år bland lokalbefolkningen i Kina. Vardagslivet är inte så olika, nästan friare faktiskt – åtminstone i småstäderna. Folk jobbar på och har samma drömmar som vi. Storpolitiken bryr de sig dock inte om, för den behärskar de ändå inte. Var och en gör det man är bäst på. Min insikt efter att rest runt i både öst och väst, är att så länge man tar seden dit man kommer funkar det utmärkt. Men de flesta som klagar har aldrig varit i länderna de klagar på. (visa mindre)

Torsten Dilot – Västerås – 10 dagar sedan

Just opiumkrigen handlade om bruket av opium och opium som handelsvara. Storbritannien och Frankrike såg opium som en inkomstbringande handelsvara medan kineserna redan då insåg att missbruk av opium var mycket skadligt. Kineserna ville sålunda inte att det skulle handlas med opium. Engelsmännen och fransmännen vann kriget och opium blev en spridd handelsvara… Alla länder har en historia, inte alltid smickrande. Sverige, Tyskland, Ryssland, Kina, ja även USA med flera länder. Viktigt är att tänka på nuläge och inte det som varit. Då skulle vi aldrig kunna acceptera Tyskland t ex Hur ser det ut idag i dessa länder, jo människor lever i ordnade samhällen med ett stort mått av trygghet. Speciellt Kina är ett tryggt samhälle – vi känner oss trygga var helst vi promenerar mitt i natten i Kina. I Sverige tar vi inga nattliga promenader… Trygghet är viktigt! Följer man lagen och tar seden dit man kommer är det inga problem. Acceptans och respekt och kunna lita på varandra är viktiga ingredienser. Ser man på världspolitiken idag anser jag att det är två ledare som sticker ut i positiv mening, den ena är Angela Merkel och den andra är Xi Jinping. Obama var av samma kaliber men annars är det ganska tunt numera..

Analysis: How Chabahar Survived US Sanctions?

By  Shoaib Rahim

STOCKHOLM,  Nov. 28 (Greenpost)–The United States imposed new sanctions, dubbed as toughest ever, on Iran on November 5. However, Afghanistan and India have received certain waivers from these sanctions. The exemptions allow India to continue to develop Chabahar port and construct its related railway link to Afghanistan’s border. Further, both Afghanistan and India would continue to import petroleum products from Iran. The exemption of Chabahar was stated to be related with the economic development, reconstruction assistance and humanitarian relief of Afghanistan. However, there are many reasons beyond Afghanistan factor that made the waivers less of a surprise.

In 2003, India agreed with Iran to make investment and develop Chabahar port in Iran on Gulf of Oman. However, the project was crawling owing to the US sanctions on Iran. In spite of US dissent, India went on to spend $135 million to construct Zaranj- Dilaram highway that links Kabul– Hirat highway with Chabahar port and completed it in 2009. In August 2015, sanctions on Iran were eased while tri- lateral agreement was signed among Afghanistan, India and Iran in May 2016.

The continued, albeit bumpy, progress on Chabahar port is not a surprise given its strategic significance. Chabahar occupies unique geo- political and geo- economic status in the light of regional and global politics. Chabahar competes with Chinese funded Gawadar port on the lines of strategic encirclement theory as well as provides gateway to India to reach Central Asia as part of its competition with China. Despite this, China has remained a strong supporter of the port due to its close political and economic ties with Iran. On the other hand, while US has continued to tighten the noose around Iran, it has had to show flexibility towards the project. This is mainly because these projects have potential to strengthen India geo- economically and geo- politically in line with its strategy to support India vis-à-vis China.

At present, President Trump’s Afghanistan and South Asia strategy announced in August 2017, underscored increased role for India in Afghanistan, which was warmly welcomed by both Kabul and New Delhi. Given the fact that India’s land route access to Afghanistan is barred by Pakistan, it is Chabahar that would provide a gateway to India to reach Afghanistan and ensure its desired economic and development assistance. In turn, Afghanistan would provide India land route access to Central Asia. These interventions align with the maneuvers to increase India’s influence in Central Asia to counter that of China in the region.

An important aspect in the India- US relations is the Russian factor. India has maintained delicate balance in its relations with Russia and the US. Despite close strategic bonding with the US, India has managed to preserve its historical economic, military and diplomatic ties with Russia amid turbulent US- Russia relations. For instance, the pendulum of India’s multi –billion- dollar arms trade with both countries swings either sides in spite of changing political- economic dynamics. Moreover, it was mainly Russia that pushed for the membership of India in Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), an important regional platform. Therefore, any decision of the US that would restrict economic gains of India might affect India’s presence in current US orbit.

The waiver on oil imports granted to India also revolves around Chabahar. India is one of the top four oil importers world- wide while Iran ranks third on its list of suppliers. Therefore, in response to US pressure to cut oil imports from Iran to Zero by November 4, India made its intentions clear to defy and go against them, almost one month ahead of the deadline. Further, India’s stance to continue to buy oil from Iran at this critical juncture has implications for strengthening relations of the two countries and pave the way for long term partnership, including smooth implementation and operationalization of Chabahar.

Alternatively, India could have moved to other countries to meet its oil demand. However, Iran had already threatened that if India shifted to other countries as a consequence of sanctions on its oil trade, it would lose special privileges at Chabahar port. On the other hand, Afghanistan relies on Iran for transit route and imports including oil. The sanctions would might have disrupted trade and transit tries leaving a struggling Afghan economy in tatters. Hence, the exemption gives the country a sigh of relief.

Here, it is worth mentioning that China has expressed its support and interest in Chabahar from time to time. If Iran is frustrated with India at any stage and consequently engages China in Chabahar, it would severely dent the planned strategic gains of India around the project.

The unique strategic status of Chabahar earns it exemption from the toughest ever sanctions of the US.  However, the remaining sanctions would plague Iran’s economy. Therefore, while the project survives the sanctions, it would be hard for an economically weakened Iran to accelerate the pace and work together with India to fully operationalize the port and reap its economic gains.

Shoaib Rahim (Development Economics 2012) is an Afghan, Macro-economist, University Lecturer, TedX Speaker and Youth Activist. He founded ‘Gaheez – The Rising Afghanistan’, an initiative to engage youth in the development of Afghanistan.

The views expressed here only represents the view of the author.

Commentary: What is the significance of commemorating the end of the First world War?

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

Stockholm, Nov 12. (Greenpost) —  A grand celebration was held in Paris with participation of major first world war countries leaders including Putin, Trump, Merkel and Macron.

Actually at the end of 2014, after holding back of my breath for a year and suddenly I felt relieved. Another year went by without the break of any world war. But someone said in fact modern war is a war without smoke.

For example, that year, Russian economy almost crashed with financial crisis with pressure from the US.

But at least the real gunpower was not used.  I think it has great significance to commemorate the first world war.

Recalling back, one can realize that the reason for the first world war was due to the economic market reason and ignited by the accidents of the assasination of the Austrain King.  Nationalism was very strong at that time and there was no thoughts of   how big loss it will be  one all the countries involved in the war.

Looking back, one can see that the war was faught very barbarianly. It was fought with more weapons and lives.  Human beings lost their ration and they fought just because they belonged to different nation or different ethnic groups. It was very primitive and yet, 60 million lives were taken away.

Thus, after four years they all came to the conclusion that they should stop the war. But one lesson was that France wanted to ask Germany to pay much more.  Namely to cut Germany’s colonies.

The Versais Palace Treaty was unfair not just to Germany, mainly it was to China.  China joined the war and fought together with France and other countries, but in the end, its land in Shandong province was given to Japan. It was unfair.

Later Germany thought the treaty was too harsh on it and that led to hatred to the neighbors and wanted to fight back later.  Thus with leadership of Hitler, extremism permeated in Germany.

This could be a great lesson to draw.

Currently  you have a leader like Trump who likes to use his power and you have a leader who doesn’t care about any pressure, such as Putin.

And some Europeans said irresponsibly that there might be a war in South China Sea.  This is very irresponsible.

Through this commemoration, one should realize that the war is so harmful that it will be detrimental to everyone.

Two lessons should be drawn from the first world war. One is to forgive. Like China forgives Japan and didn’t ask Japanese to compensate so much.

Two,  one should treat every country equally.  And these lessons were drawn after the second world war. That was to build the United Nations.

Many other international organizations have been established.

The current world should learn from the lesson and gave up too much nationalism. Internationalism should be promoted. Simply when anybody thought of war, you must try your best to avoid war. If you don’t want to create a war, you shouldn’t stimulate a war, you shouldn’t put people to test.

China is a peace loving country. I don’t think it will launch a war.  But if you push on it a war,  it is a country who will do all it can do to fight back.

History shows that anyone who fought with the Japanese, win it or not, in the end, it all has been Chinized.

For example, the Mongolians and the Manchurians have all been chinized and they all accepted the Chinese culture in the end. Why? Because Chinese culture has great essence in it. It always gives out the best it has and that is always a wisdom and a virtue. Man can not fight with this kind of behaviour.  It always treats people as brothers and sisters.

Its socialist ideas mean that no matter big or small, any country is equal with others. Thus, countries should also help each other, but not fight with each other.

For example, belt and road initiative is jus the idea of peace and development.

Anyway, one should draw lessons from history and try our best to safeguard the world peace and continue development.

Xuefei Chen Axelsson

Kevin Rudd: China’s Economic Reforms Cannot, Should Not Stop

By Kevin Rudd

Former Australian prime minister Kevin Rudd. Caixin file photo.
Former Australian prime minister Kevin Rudd. Caixin file photo.

China has achieved a lot over the last 40 years.

I remember the China of 1978 because in that year I was studying Chinese at Australian National University. The Cultural Revolution had just concluded. Deng Xiaoping had just returned to the leadership.

At university, we began to study Deng Xiaoping’s axioms: “Seek truth from facts,” and “Practice is the only criterion for testing truth.”

After more than a decade of pure ideology, these were welcome sounds to the rest of the world. China, at last, had embarked on a period of reforming its domestic economy based on the fundamental disciplines of price theory. And opening its economy to international markets and raising its own people out of poverty.

By the time I first arrived in this country to work in 1984, it had already been five years since the Third Plenum.

Indeed, the first document I remember reading when I was in the Australian Embassy that year was the Third Plenum of the 12th Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) in November 1984, on what was then called “urban reform” — taking the principle of price-based reform of Chinese agriculture, and beginning to apply it to the rest of the Chinese economy.

China, from the earliest days, has had to deal with the inherent tension between market prices on the one hand, and state planning on the other.

But by and large, your success of the last 40 years has been based on applying market prices to most sectors, from the agricultural sector, to the manufacturing sector, to the services sector, which of course includes the financial services sector.

There is also a tension between full market prices on the one hand, and the role of state-owned enterprises (SOEs) on the other.

Market prices are about the efficient allocation of resources in the economy, where the principal actors are private firms and individual consumers.

By and large, SOEs have a different social and political purpose.

The truth of the last 40 years is that most of the growth in China’s economy — most of the improvement in people’s living standards, and practically all new jobs which have been created — have been created through Chinese private enterprises.

This is the core lesson of the last 40 years.

The importance of market prices for the future

The discipline of market prices as the efficient allocation mechanism for scarce economic resources is not just an important historical principle.

It must also be a guiding principle for the future.

That is why the decision outlined by China at the Third Plenum of the 18th CPC Central Committee in 2013 is so important in the eyes of the world.

We all remember what that decision said: “Allow the market to play a decisive role in resource allocation.”

I know enough about Chinese domestic economics and politics to know how complicated that decision must have been in 2013.

That decision reflected the domestic consensus within this country on the best resolution of the tensions between the two traditions alive in modern Chinese economic theory and practice: that is, market prices driving the growth of private firms on the one hand, and state planning driving by the continuing role of SOEs on the other.

Indeed, when we foreigners analyzed the 60 sets of reforms in the 2013 “Decision,” the core guiding principle underpinning all of them was the central importance of market prices.

For China’s future, this is important for the growth of its product and service markets.

For market prices to work in the agricultural sector, the manufacturing sector, or the services sector, there must be strong competition.

And for there to be strong competition, there must be competitive neutrality.

And for there to be competitive neutrality, the same rules should be applied to Chinese private firms and SOEs as apply to foreign firms.

That’s why five of the most critical areas in the decisions of the Third Plenum of the 18th CPC Central Committee were competition policy reform, SOE reform, foreign trade reform, foreign investment reform, and financial sector reform.

In the West, we call this creating a level playing field through the creation of a set of rules and regulations, so firms can compete equally to produce the best product at the lowest price for the consumer, thereby representing the most efficient allocation of resources and thus eliminating waste.

If we look around the world today, we see the most successful economies over time are usually the most open and competitive economies.

Just as we see around the world, the most poorly performing economies are those most closed and overregulated, creating advantages for one sector or another.

The role of market prices in the financial sector

This same logic also applies to the financial services sector.

For those who save, their interest rates should be driven by market pressures, so they have a proper incentive to save with an attractive rate.

Similarly, some consumers may need credit to purchase essential goods and services for themselves and their family. They should get the best rates and conditions possible on the market.

Just as for individual firms, either public or private, for them to grow in a sustainable fashion, they too need to have access to capital at a competitive rate.

Interest rates applied to individual loans should also price the risk associated with that loan, in order to discourage entrepreneurs from building businesses that do not have a strong market base.

If credit is created for nonmarket reasons, or for political reasons, then structural risks begin to emerge — as nonperforming businesses inevitably produce nonperforming loans; and if there are too many nonperforming loans, they produce structural problems for individual financial institutions, or even more broadly for the financial system as a whole.

Ten years ago, we saw this in the global financial crisis, which started in the United States. Indeed, this is a problem where asset bubbles emerge in any economy.

That is why, for example, China’s current policy of “deleveraging” is important for the long-term stability and prosperity of the Chinese financial system, and the general economy.

Deleveraging is always a painful process in any economy.

And we all agree — the best thing to do to avoid deleveraging problems in the future is to apply market discipline to manage credit supply in the first place.

The continued role of regulation

What I have said today about market prices as a principle in the economy doesn’t mean there is no future role for economic regulation, legislation, or other national policy priorities.

All countries create regulatory and legislative structures that maximize their definition of public goods.

First and foremost, this is to prevent markets from completely spiraling out of control, as happened during the global financial crisis.

That’s why, through the G-20, we agreed on a whole range of financial regulations worldwide, to prevent the risk of future financial crisis.

Of course, there are other reasons to support government legislation and regulation of markets as well.

And that is to make sure governments can create proper public goods: health, education and welfare.

Free markets do not naturally provide these things.

That’s why government must intervene, so that people with lower incomes have equitable access to these critical public goods.

But each time governments intervene in markets, either to regulate those markets, to prevent systemic risk, or to provide for other forms of state intervention to fund and deliver other public goods, there will always be an economic price to pay in terms of the optimization of resources.

That’s why the government should always weigh carefully the net impact on overall economic efficiency when considering each individual decision to intervene in markets.

In China’s case, SOEs can “crowd out” the ability of private firms to sell their goods and services, thereby impacting the efficiency, living standards, and sustainable employment across the general economy.

Furthermore, if administrative decisions do not allow competitive access to finance for private firms to grow their businesses because SOEs have preferential access to capital, then, once again, overall economic efficiency will be affected, and overall living standards will be reduced, just as individual private firms will employ less people.

China’s current economic circumstances

China has made remarkable progress in the past 40 years.

But the international lesson for all of us, who are in the hard business of market reform, is that the process of reform does not stop.

It is a continuing process.

The uncomfortable truth for all of us is that when market reforms stop, often for understandable political reasons, it soon affects economic development, living standards, and sustainable employment.

China’s economic reform blueprint has produced a mixed record of implementation.

It has also faced other economic challenges for its growth as well. This has included the continuing debate in China on the best balance within this country between the rights of private entrepreneurs on the one hand, and the rights of the party and state on the other.

A third factor influencing the growth environment has been China’s deleveraging campaign, which has needed to be implemented for macro financial management reasons.

Then of course there are further factors arising from the emerging U.S.-China trade war.

Nonetheless, the impact of the trade war has been negative on both global and Chinese business sentiment.

And this may also flow to China’s economic growth over time.

For these various reasons, it has been important in the last few weeks to see the series of definitive statements by President Xi Jinping and Vice Premier Liu He on the central importance of private firms for long-term sustainable economic growth, employment, and improved living standards.

Chinese private firms will need to have confidence in terms of their future competitive status in relation to Chinese SOEs.

This will have particular implications for the future of China’s domestic finance industry. Not just banks, but also the new array of other delivery platforms for financial services right across the Chinese economy.

China’s economic future will be deeply shaped by micro businesses, becoming small businesses, becoming medium businesses, becoming domestic leaders, becoming global champions — in an open and competitive global market.

China’s economic future will be determined in large part by who the next Alibabas, the next Tencents, or the next Haiers will be.

Of course, that rests on the ability of China’s domestic economy to be served by an efficient financial services industry that delivers financial capital on a competitive basis to individual businesses and consumers.

And then there is a wider question of China becoming a bigger provider of financial services to the region and the world.

That’s where China will need to fully implement the financial industry reforms articulated in the Third Plenum of the 18th CPC Central Committee.

Ultimately, the question of the future liberalization and convertibility of China’s currency, and the opening of its capital account is a sovereign decision for China itself.

There are both risks and opportunities involved in these large decisions.

In Australia, we did it back in 1983. And by and large, it has worked well, both for our financial services industry, and for our overall economic prosperity.

Nonetheless, each country is different. With different political circumstances. But these questions do ultimately shape the ability of countries to become global financial centers.

Our general experience in Australia is that greater foreign competition in our domestic financial industry has delivered a more-competitive financial services sector for Australian businesses and consumers.

Proper financial regulation can prevent any systemic risks arising. But proper regulation should not be used as a form of protectionism for local industry.

Kevin Rudd was prime minister of Australia (2007-10, 2013) and is president of the Asia Society Policy Institute and chairman of the International Peace Institute. The article is an excerpt of a speech he gave at the second Qiantang River Forum in Hangzhou, Zhejiang province, on Saturday.

Source  Caixin

Video: A video interview with Kevin Rudd at World Water Week

视频:独家专访前澳大利亚总理陆克文–政府和私营部门都要关注水和卫生问题!

Foreign Journalists Visit Xinjiang Series (17) –Xinjiang information Office Deputy Director Shaliyef: Xinjiang has seen great changes through Belt and Road Initiative and Tourism

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

STOCKHOLM, Nov. 1(Greenpost)– At lunch on August 31, it was time to say goodbye. This might be the last time that we all eat lunch together. For the whole trip of eight days,  Xinjiang Information Office Deputy Director Ailiti. Shliyef has always accompanied us, but he didn’t say anything, only to help meet any demands coming from the journalists.

But when the journalists are going to leave, he finally spoke. He said the main purpose to invite all the journalists here is to let you all have a look at a real Xinjiang and experience in person about the changes in life in Xinjiang. All the facts have proved that the socialism led by Chinese communist party suits Xinjiang very well.

“Xinjiang is located at the core area of the silk road economic belt. The Chinese Central government has invested huge amount of money into Xinjiang’s development. By the end of 2017, Central government has invested 200 billion yuan or about 30 billion US dollars in infrastructure construction. Xinjiang is building six subway lines and two of them are hopeful to be in operation by the end of this year. Fast train between Lanzhou in Gansu province and Urumqi in Xinjiang has been in operation. Fast train between Beijing and Xinjiang is on trial operation. Once it is in operation,  the time between Beijing and Urumqi will be shortened from three days to one day. Most big cities in China can link with Xinjiang.”said Shaliyef.

Shaliyef also said that Xinjiang has sufficient energy including traditional coal and oil but also large amount of wind farms, solar farms and hydropower. Xinjiang’s electricity can be transmitted to Henan and Hebei provinces.

“Now there are also many airlines linking Xinjiang with other provincial capitals. Many large cities can have charter airlines directly to go to Altay, this will greatly promote tourism industry. By the end of July this year, the number of tourists has increased to 75 million. ”said Shaliyef.

Since 2014,  about 70 thousand cardres and party members have been to the countryside to help farmers and herdmen to help them with knowledge, education and science improvement to improve relations between various ethnic groups and between the regional government and rural farmers.  The farmers and herdmen’s housing condition has been improved and the drinking water, electricity and internet problems have been solved. The changes are magnificient.

“All these changes were due to the fiscal investment from the central government and the 19 provinces brotherly assistance. Socialism  under the leadership of the CPC suits Xinjiang very well.” Said Shaliyef.

He also mentioned the riot took place in Xinjiang in 2009. He said this was due to the infiltration of a small group of extremists who spread extremist and separatist ideas beginning in the 1990s. They had tried all means to sabotage the stability in Xinjiang.  During those years, people dared not go to Bazar to sell things due to the insecure situation. But now it is very safe, people can go to the night market to have a walk and have a look. All are happy because it is safe and stable now.

“I like to give you an example, in Kasgar, there is an old town, there are 75000 Ugyhur people there. Over the decades, there has never been riot activities. Why? Because they are doing good business around the temple. There are many good tourists there. So with good business and life, they also live a good life.” Shaliyef said.

But why did the riot happen in Urumqi? Shaliyef said it was just due to the sabotage of the outside forces. They just wanted to have big influence here.

Shaliyef stressed that Xinjiang’s stability came from the correct leadership of the party at various levels. Xinjiang needs to continue to develop and this needs a safe environment, a good public order. Security is also a big issue for many countries, for mankind. Sometimes, those who have never come to Xinjiang just heard some rumors and believed in it. I hope you can report the real situation in Xinjiang through your reports. Of course we are still at development stage.

About ‘Belt and Road’ Initiative, it is good for the countries along the belt and road because it is not just China that wishes to develop, it is the wishes of many countries. The Ancient Silk Road fostered many big cities. I believe the current Belt and Road Initiative will help many countries and cities develop further. Of course, some foreign media was not very comfortable about the belt and road initiative. But in reality, China’s initiative aims to help all countries involved to develop through cooperation and realize a win-win situation.

There are 14 foreign journalists from 14 countries including Belgium and Sweden and 23 Chinese journalists from the mainstream media in China taking part in this 8 day reporting trip. They have seen the tourism and cultural resources in Xinjiang and how the local government prioritised tourism as a pillar industry in Xinjiang’s development. They also experienced the core areas function of Xinjiang linking inland China and the surrounding countries along the silk and road economic zone.

Photo and text  Xuefei Chen Axelsson

Chinese Ambassador Gui says China pays great attention to China-Europe relations

STOCKHOLM, Nov. 10(Greenpost)– Chinese Ambassador Gui Congyou said that China attaches great importance to China-Europe relations and he likes to listen to all the participants opinion on how to better improve China-Europe relations.

Ambassador Gui said that this year marks the 40th anniversary of reform and opening-up in China. Reform and opening-up, started 40 years ago, have transformed China from a country shackled by rigid planned economy to a vibrant socialist market economy, and from a closed economy and society to one increasingly interconnected with the world. All the Chinese people benefit from reform and opening-up, as no one will live under the poverty line and all will lead a good life. Global economy benefits from China’s reform and opening-up as China’s economic growth contributes over 30% to global growth. Countries around the world benefit from China’s reform and opening-up because China generates tremendous development opportunities and dividends as it is set to become the world’s largest consumption market.

China’s reform and opening-up also contributes to world peace and security. The fact that China maintains social and political stability and is delivering a better life to nearly 1.4 billion people undoubtedly generates strong impetus to keep the momentum of global and regional security and stability.

Gui said that “some people speculate that China’s development threatens other countries, to which I would like to stress that it is not in the DNA of the Chinese nation to threaten and invade other countries. In the 5000 years of Chinese history, China has never waged a war of conquest against other countries. As a nation that endured over a hundred years of colonial invasion and enslavement by Western powers, we know too well the pain of being occupied and enslaved. As Chinese people often say, “do not do to others what you would not have them do to you.” In the vocabulary of China’s foreign policies, words like “invading other countries” and “seeking hegemony” have no place”. Gui said.

“There are also people saying that China is more assertive, which is a serious misunderstanding and misinterpretation of China’s foreign policies. Over a hundred years of colonial invasion and occupation of China led to the fact that China is still yet to realise complete national reunification. Anti-China separatist forces, such as “Taiwan independence”, “Tibet independence”, “East Turkestan” as well as “Hong Kong independence”, are doing everything to sabotage and hinder the reunification of China. What we must do in response is to firmly uphold national unity and advance the process of national reunification. In other words, we will not let any country, any force, any organization or any individual take away any inch of China’s rightful territory. What we are doing is opposing others to break into our house and rob our things rather than barge into others’ house and rob their things.” said Gui.

Gui said that Sweden is the first Western country to establish diplomatic ties with China. As a major Nordic country and an important member of the EU, Sweden leads the world in innovative, green and sustainable development. Just like China, Sweden is committed to upholding world peace and security, and resolving disputes through political and diplomatic means. These factors set up the foundation and favorable conditions for long-term and steady growth of China-Sweden relations. With high importance attached to its relations with Sweden, China is willing to strengthen dialogue, communication and cooperation in all areas, and work with Sweden to make contributions to world peace, development and security .

It is true that our two countries are different in our political systems and ideologies. But it is exactly these differences that make dialogue, exchanges and cooperation more necessary. Because we are different, we need to improve together by learning from each other. However, we oppose exaggerating or politicising these differences and turning them into obstacles of our relations, rather we hope to work together to turn these differences into highlights and propellers of our relations. To make this happen, we need to treat each other as equals, respect each other, refrain from interfering in each other’s internal affairs and work together for shared benefits.

Gui said that the 19th CPC National Congress that was successfully convened last October established the Xi Jinping Thought on Socialism with Chinese Characteristics for a New Era, and set the goal to build China into a great modern socialist country by the middle of this century.

To achieve the goal, China will deepen reform, open up wider to all countries and regions of the world, and carry forward with reform and opening-up with utmost resolve and confidence. The first China International Import Expo that is being held represents a major initiative and effort reaffirming China’s determination to open up wider. Like I said at the beginning, China’s reform and opening-up benefits the whole world, and deepened reform and opening-up will only benefit the world even more. We are committed to improving socialist democracy and rule of law, upholding and improving human rights and delivering a better life to all Chinese people. These efforts will bring about greater social and political stability and economic prosperity.

But no matter how much progress China makes in its development, even when China’s GDP per capita reaches the level of Sweden at USD 50,000, China will still stick to a peaceful development path and its peaceful foreign policy, remain committed to building a community with a shared future for mankind rather than interfere in other countries’  internal affairs, invade other countries or seek world dominance. Thousands of years of human history told us one thing, that is any empire that invades, enslaves or occupies other countries will eventually fail and crumble. That is what all of us need to learn and more importantly heed from history.

The Chinese side attaches great importance to developing China-Europe relations. In terms of how, I prefer to hear your thoughts and suggestions, concluded Gui.

时评:锦州各村、社区人民应该耐心等待相信市政府 天宝华府项目正在搭建坚决路线图

北欧绿色邮报网报道(记者陈雪霏)– 记者日前从业内人士获息,锦州市政府通知涉及天宝华府项目的各村,社区的人们,天宝华府项目正在搭建解决路线图,由于市政府联席会没有及时开上,部分购房户,动迁户情绪激动,要求各村、社区及时掌握情况,不能进京上访,把人稳定在家里。

据分析,这个消息说明政府还是在管这个事情,即使是一时在哄大家,他们也承认有这个事情。从搜房网看,天宝华府项目是2012年12月3日开盘到2014年12月31日交房。但是,已经预售了。钱都收了,每户大约在10万到20万元之间。(不要小看这些钱,这都是一家三口辛辛苦苦攒了一辈子的钱。)

但是,事实是,到现在,这个房子还没有盖呢。你要人们耐心等待,不要情绪激动。但是,如果人还活着,钱都没了,他能不激动吗?

尽管如此,笔者认为,亲爱的人民群众,还是要耐心等待,不要激动,要对党和政府有信心

我可以讲讲我知道的某人的亲身经历来证明,只要你们一直争取,就会有解决的办法的。

2004年,陈某购买了亿霖木业的杨树15亩,奖励一亩,16亩。花了5.7万元管护费和树林费。该片树林说是在沈阳康平县。陈某曾经到那里去过,知道那里有树。但是,没有亲自看自己的那片树林到底在哪里,尽管林权证上描述了其邻居是王先生等等。林权证上盖着康平县林业局的红印。

但是,两年后,发现这些人有非法集资的行为,很快,在北京被判刑。两万多人的投资眼看打水漂。这些人就天天去北京市政府去问。因为有的人没有买房,而是把自己积攒的100多万都投进去了。因此,有很多家庭幸福感指数直接一落千丈。

但是,功夫不负苦心人。到2009年,终于石头落地,党和政府按照社会矛盾调节来解决了问题。在报纸上公布了北京各个区县解决问题的单位名称。解决办法是要么要原来的林地,但实际上当时答应的是到10年之后就必须收获了。就是说到2014年就到期了。所以,你是否能等到那个时候,人们并不清楚,基于这样的考虑,陈某愿意承担40%的损失。这就是第二个方案,就是赔偿60%的款项。

到2014年,陈某再次认真看2012年的报纸信息,通过顺藤摸瓜的方式,层层打电话,果然打到了北京二中院周法官那里。他就是负责处理这个事情的。最后,在周法官的帮助下,在2014年6月终于收到了35000多元的赔付款。

由此,笔者认为党和政府还是值得信任的。不是不解决问题,是时候没到。要解决问题,必须有人下决心,有一定的资金。假如资金已经流失在某人或某个组织手里,怎样追回,当然很不好解决。解决问题有两个办法,一个是人民内部矛盾,就是通过说服调节,劝说,把款项追回。另一个办法就是告上法庭。但是,在中国,笔者都不主张告上法庭。因为一旦上了法庭,就几乎没有回旋余地了。就无法再调节了。最好是协商解决。因为锦州人都是活雷锋,都是好人,都是很仗义的人,希望能够通过调节就解决问题。

如果问题很容易解决,估计也不会托这么久。但是,作为政府还是不能不管这种事情的,因为批地,是政府管的,开发商也是政府管的。他有什么不合适的行为,也总得有人管的。因为老百姓的难事,政府总得管的。

再举一个例子。就是房子。人们一开始总是图便宜,买小产权的房。但是,卖方说一开始就是大产权。你买的时候当大产权买,但是,买到手了,迟迟没有房产证。

这个事情比天宝的好一点就是房子已经盖好了。可以住。但就是没有房产证。没有房产证就是无法交易。

2004年卖出,2006年入住。但是,到2016年,就是十年之后,终于拿到了房产证。因为国家要把房地产数字化了,都要在网上登记。借着这个契机,就给房产证了,就可以登记了。

这期间,很多房主就是时不时到政府去问一下,到物业去问一下。物业的回答是,可能到年底吧,到年底再问就是夏天吧。到夏天再问,就是头春节吧。然后就是第二年春天,再然后就是第三年年底……就这样,熬了十个春秋。终于拿到房产证了。

由此,笔者得出结论,问题总是会解决的。大家就是要沉住气。要有信心,有决心,有耐心,等待党和政府解决问题。只是,大家要好好想想,怎样解决最好。大家要商量找到一个切实可行的办法。估计一点儿损失没有是不可能的。但是,怎样能够获得最好的结果,就要等待政府的联席会,需要你们参加的,要积极配合,积极参加。

说话要文明,君子动口不动手。不要太激动。问题总是会解决的!也相信锦州市人民政府的领导有意志,有能力,有办法,有智慧解决这个问题。真正为老百姓排忧解难,让那些还没有房子的人能够过上一个温暖的冬天。让这个涉及很多人的天宝华府的房地产问题尽早得到解决!

另外,明年就是中华人名共和国的70周年华诞,我们必须在这之前把问题解决了,然后,好好庆祝祖国的生日!

 

今日头条:瑞典华人社团发联合声明强烈抗议瑞典电视台SVT辱华言行要求立即停止类似对中国和中国人们恶意伤害的娱乐节目

北欧绿色邮报网报道(记者陈雪霏)– 瑞典华人社团再次集体发声,发表声明强烈抗议瑞典电视台SVT的辱华言行,要求立即停止类似对中国和中国人民的恶意伤害的娱乐节目,并向中国和中国人民诚恳地赔礼道歉,以使中瑞关系和两国人民友谊朝着健康持久的方向发展。

声明内容如下:

尊敬的瑞典电视台及罗恩达尔先生:

我们是一批出生,成长,生活,工作在瑞典的华人。我们的祖籍国是中国。在瑞典这个美丽文明的国度里,我们深切感受到它民主法制的健全,社会制度的优越,和瑞典人民的友善。尤其是瑞典人文观念的先进性,广为人知。而人文观念的集中体现就是重视人,尊重人,关心人,爱护人。我们对它有切身的体会。我们热爱这片土地。同时,我们对我们的祖籍国-中国也有着血浓于水的感情。因此中瑞两国和平共处,中瑞人民友好往来是我们全体瑞典华人的追求和愿望。

令人遗憾的是最近瑞典电视台娱乐频道节目主持人赫尔先生连续两次以所谓调侃搞笑的形式的对中国和中国人民进行了极为恶劣的蔑视和嘲讽,在全球造成了极其恶劣的影响。它不但对中国人民,也对全球华人造成了极大的心理伤害和人身侮辱。这是我们无论如何都不能接受的。更令人不解的是罗恩达尔先生在节目中拿中国领土和国旗说事,并借机恶意更改中国领土,调侃中国国旗。领土是国家行使主权的地域,政府隶属于国家,国旗是国家的象征。任何人都知道每个国家,每个人都有自己的尊严和底线,而这个底线是不能触碰的。

罗恩达尔先生将侮辱中国人民,更改中国领土,调侃中国国旗称之为瑞典式的幽默。人们不禁要问,他还有道德底线吗?任何人不得把你自己的观念强加在中国人民和瑞典人民头上。我们认为娱乐节目节目主持人罗恩达尔先生对中国和中国人民的蔑视和嘲讽毫无幽默可言,也极大地伤害了中瑞两国政府的关系和中瑞两国人民的友谊。我们强烈要求瑞典电视台SVT及罗恩达尔先生,立刻停止类似对中国和中国人民的恶意伤害的娱乐节目,并向中国和中国人民诚恳地赔礼道歉,以使中瑞关系和两国人民友谊朝着健康持久的方向发展。

参加签署联合声明的人士包括瑞典中国友好协会执行会长、国际时尚设计师夏雨女士,瑞典华人总会执行会长叶沛群,瑞典华人总会瑞典青田同乡会会长叶克雄,瑞典华人工商联合总会会长王俞力,瑞典斯德哥尔摩华助中心常务副主任季展有和瑞京华人协会会长柳少惠。

声明原文中文如下:

瑞典文,Swedish version.

Lars-Erik Strand comment om SVT program

Jag är för det mesta stolt över mitt hemland och anser att Sverige är ett av de bästa länderna att bo i. Min fru, som kommer från Kina, är också väldigt glad över att bo i Sverige. Hon har flitig kontakt med släkt och vänner i Kina och Hong Kong och hon pratar mycket om det vackra svenska landskapet liksom om öppenheten och vänligheten hos det svenska folket.
 
Nu, efter satirprogrammet ”Svenska nyheters” inslag om Kina har bilden förändrats. Min fru är ledsen och besviken. Vad var egentligen meningen med detta program? Satir har alltid funnits och jag välkomnar god sådan. Men det här inslaget var inte bara elakt och fult, det höll dessutom extremt låg nivå.
 
Programledaren Jesper Rönndahl tar upp och späder på gamla fördomar. Med en arrogant och självgod attityd försöker han sig på en analys av Kina som bara blir ytlig och substanslös. Och varför väljer man den tyske tonsättaren Johann Pachelbel för att illustrera den svenska idyllen? Okunskap och inskränkthet är ingen lyckad kombination.
Upprinnelsen till det här programmet är de kinesiska turister som blev avhysta från ett hostel då de kommit ett dygn för tidigt. Kina, som först fördömde svensk polis och deras agerande, har sedan gått ut och förklarat att det hela handlade om en monumental kulturkrock och att kineserna överreagerade. Att då i efterhand, när känslorna lagt sig, lägga ut det här programmet är både tanklöst och beklagligt.
Jag är glad över att vi i Sverige inte har statskontrollerad television men någon form av kontroll när det gäller public service vore ändå önskvärt. Kineser ser normalt inte på svensk tv av förklarliga skäl men det här programmet, som dessutom var tolkat på kinesiska, har visats och väckt stor indignation i Kina. Med all rätt. Här får kineserna inte bara en bild av svenskarna som ett fördomsfullt och inskränkt folk, man tror också att vår humor håller sig på denna låga nivå.
Många tycker säkert jag är tråkig och rigid som tycker så här. Det är ju trots allt en publik med i programmet som skrattar gott åt Jesper Rönndahl. Men att göra sig lustig på andras bekostnad tycker jag alltid är ett lågvattenmärke. Alltid. Bra humor som står sig genom åren är den som är intelligent och skarpsynt. “Svenska nyheter” kommer tack och lov snart att vara bortglömt men fram till dess får vi nog dessvärre leva med en försämrad relation till Kina.
Jag tror inte att programledarens avsikt var att skada någon men ett visst mått av sunt förnuft bör man ändå använda i sin relation med andra kulturer. Det som vi uppfattar som, visserligen dåligt men ändå, ett oförargligt skämt kan i ett annat land uppfattas som en grov skymf. Det är precis vad som skett nu och det minsta Jesper Rönndahl och Sveriges Television borde göra är att åtminstone be om ursäkt.
Vi har nyligen, i min familj och bland våra vänner, firat midhöstfesten, en urgammal kinesisk högtid som Jesper Rönndahl sannolikt aldrig hört talas om. I korthet handlar det om övergången mellan årstiderna och kopplingen till Yin och Yang. Sedan runt tusen år tillbaka förknippas den även med den runda månkakan som delas i fyra lika stora delar. När man äter månkakan kan man tänka på sina avlägsna vänner runt jordklotet. Just den här fullmånen i september anses vara den som lyser starkast och därför samlas människor i Kina och runt hela världen för att fira den globala gemenskapen mellan människor. Månen är densamma, var man än befinner sig på jordklotet. Likaså har människor samma tankar och samma drömmar. Nu har månkakan fått en fadd eftersmak.
Kina är ett land som värnar om sin långa historia. Det är också ett välutvecklat och modernt industriland. Man känner stolthet över sitt folk och sina traditioner. En stolthet som vi nu har trampat på och smutsat ned. “Svenska nyheter” är en del av public service som jag är med och finansierar med hjälp av TV-avgiften. Om inte SVT och Jesper Rönndahl vill be om ursäkt så vill i alla fall jag be mina kinesiska vänner om ursäkt. Jag hoppas att relationen på diplomatisk nivå snart blir bättre igen. Relationen till mina vänner är oförändrad även om bägaren blivit lite smolkig.

Swedish TV Satire program makes a negative impression on Swedish about China

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

STOCKHOLM, Sept. 22(Greenpost)– After Chinese tourists were thrown  to Skogkyrkorgården on Sept. 2 and Chinese Embassy protested it on Sept. 15, Swedish TV, SVT satire  program broadcast a program ridiculing Chinese tourists who did not obey the Swedish rules.

The background is that the TV host said China is so big that Swedish knew so little about China.  It first ridiculed the Swedish government to bow down to the Chinese government because of the trade.  Money speaks louder.

Then it broadcast a video released on the website by Tourist Zeng about how Swedish police treated them. The mother was crying out help, help. They translated into kill me and kill me.  Then they broadcast a notice on Youku to say Sweden welcomes you, but you should obey Swedish rules, for example, you should not shit outside the Royal Palace.  And then show a fleet of dogs.

The worst thing is they use a map that doesn’t show Taiwan and part of Tibet.

This kind of ironic program stimulated the Chinese Embassy’s protest again.

Chinese embassy has issued a notice that they strongly condemned this action and protest against those who made this program in SVT.

SVT said it is a satire program。In other words China should not take it seriously.

But they do know that this kind of ironic and ridiculous way of expression is actually even more annoying.

China likes to attract more Swedish buyers and sellors to “Canton Fair” and Shanghai CIIE Fair

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

STOCKHOLM, Sept. 14(Greenpost) — China Import&Export Trade Fair and China International Import Expo promotion conference has been held in Stockholm.

Zhang Qiaozhen, President of Sweden-China Entrepreneur Association and focal person in Nordic Innovation Center made a welcome remark.

“Over the past 61 years, Canton Fair has been a grand international fair growing up along with New China and a witness for China’s reform and opening up.  ”

Zhang Qiaozhen said over the past decade, Canton Fair has strengthened China and the World’s Trade relations and become the first promotion platform for foreign trade.

Sweden-China Entrepreneur Association is an organization that serves as a bridge between Nordic enterprises and enterprises and government in information exchange, mutual help and cooperation and win-win.  “We shall help those companies that are suitable to develop in China to find partners in China and even help them find funding and provide marketing solutions.  Canton Fair is a good platform for you to go to China and Asian market.”

Han Xiaodong, counselor at the Chinese Embassay in Sweden said Sweden has seen surplus in trade with China. This implies that Chinese people have a strong demand of Swedish goods. He welcomes Swedish enterprises to attend the Canton Fair and China International Import and Export Fair.

Elisabet Söderstrom, Secretary of Sweden-China Trade Council said at the conference that although there are many media in the society, there is still the need to meet face to face.  Canton Fair and China International Import and Export Fair. She said that Huawei and Volvo are actually also their members.

Fredrik Uddenfeldt, Director of Asia Region in Invest Sweden said trade between China and Sweden has increased a lot. Sweden has exported more products to China than to America. Sweden’s enterprises in China also see increases in a number of over 100. China’s manufacturing industry are the best and some products are even better than that in Europe.  So he encouraged enterprises to go to China to attend the two fairs.

Lena Miranda, Chairman of Sweden Incubater and CEO of Jönköping Incubater said that it is time for both Sweden and China to do real businesses, it is not just a visit, but do real business.  Canton Fair and CIIE are good platform for businesses.

Ye Jijiang, Vice Chairman of China Foreign Trade Center finally made a promotion about Canton Fair and CIIE.

“China is melting into the world and the world also needs China. Over the past 61 years, one can see that Canton Fair is one of the most professional trade fair platform. ”

With the 123 fairs over 61 years, China has become the largest export freight trade country.  Canton fair has become the largest fair in the world. During the Spring Fair, a total of 667 Swedish attended the fair among 203346 people.

The 124 fair will be held in Canton between Mid October and Nov. 4.  Ye Jijiang welcome all the Swedish entrepreneurs to attend the fairs.

Moreover, Nov. 5-10, China International Import Expo  will be held in Shanghai, with 2800 enterprises from 130 countries and regions being registered.

The CIIE will be a great platform for bilateral trade.

The two sides also held a small scale close door meeting before the conference.

Over 100 Swedish entrepreneurs and Swedish-Chinese entrepreneurs attended the conference to exchange ideas and shared information。

Photo and Text Xuefei Chen Axelsson.

Opinion: United Sweden Stands

By Xuefei Chen Axelsson

The general election in Sweden appreared a deadlock which means Redgreen block got 144 seats, Alliance got 142 seats and Swedish Democratic Party got 63 seats.

Under this situation, in order to ban Swedish Democratic Party to the ruling government,  Redgreen Block and Alliance should compromise and be united.  Otherwise, Sweden will be a mess and in kaos.

The next government must be stronger that means it should have a majority.

If Swedish parties can look at the big picture of the country and avoid SD ruling, they must be united.

Social Democratic Party is still the largest party even though it is losing members.  So Stefan Lofvin should be able to form a cabinet with the combination of all the Alliance parties or three at least under the condition that the left is also included.

The next Swedish government should try to have a majority government and with the ruling including Social Democratic , a great party in human history.

In history, Sweden has the tradition of compromise. It is time to make compromise for the common good.  Otherwise, Sweden will be disrupted. United Sweden Stands.